Jump to content
Ultimaker Community of 3D Printing Experts

Please make it more difficult to erase settings


cinderblock
 Share

Recommended Posts

Posted · Please make it more difficult to erase settings

My father just launched the instance of Cura I set up for him and was prompted to update. In the process of updating, it was suggested that he uninstall the previous version. He thought that was reasonable and so clicked through the uninstaller that the updater ran. In his haste, he just clicked "Yes" (as so many do) to the popup that, slightly criptically, said would erase the current settings not thinking anything of it. The installer finished and, of course, now he's lost all the saved profiles. These are profiles that we've spent years slowly tweaking.

 

It should be difficult to clear everything, but I realize this is a feature some want.

 

Maybe make it so that clearing profiles just moves them to the recycle bin so that they can be recovered easily?

  • Link to post
    Share on other sites

    Create an account or sign in to comment

    You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

    Create an account

    Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

    Register a new account

    Sign in

    Already have an account? Sign in here.

    Sign In Now
     Share

    • Our picks

      • New here? Get ahead with a free onboarding course
        Hi,
         
        Often getting started is the most difficult part of any process. A good start sets you up for success and saves you time and energy that could be spent elsewhere. That is why we have a onboarding course ready for
        Ultimaker S5 Pro Bundle, Ultimaker S5, Ultimaker S3 Ultimaker 2+ Connect.   
        They're ready for you on the Ultimaker Academy platform. All you need to do to gain access is to register your product to gain free access. 
        Ready? Register your product here in just 60 seconds.
          • Like
        • 11 replies
    ×
    ×
    • Create New...