My UM2 First Experiences

dgsharp

Posted · My UM2 First Experiences

I just got my UM2 (Yay Christmas!). I'm fairly new to the hobby/DIY 3D printing community, I've been around it at hackerspaces and even designed the "Hive76 Milled Bolt" for RepRap extruders, but haven't had a machine of my own until now. Until very recently I ran a Stratasys Dimension FDM machine at work for about the last 6-7 years, and I have parts made on pro SLS / PolyJet / FDM machines for work with some regularity. Hopefully my comments will be of some benefit to newbies, and maybe also help with the future documentation. My apologies for such a long message. Here goes:

- There were 2 button head screws loose in the bottom of the box. It's not immediately obvious to me where they go. (They don't look like they go to the extruder.) So far the machine seems to be ok without them, so we'll see!

- There didn't appear to be any documentation about cutting the zip ties that were holding the X/Y stages during shipping. Not a big deal, but in trying to follow all the directions to the T, I saw no mention of it.

- The "getting started" documentation didn't seem to mention attaching the glass plate. Not super tricky, but a quick note in the unpacking docs would have been nice.

- I've got 3 materials, the PLA that came with the machine, some ABS from Makershed, and some Taulman 3D nylon 645. I found that the UM robot model prints fine for me in PLA with no glue stick, but I needed the glue stick for ABS. For the nylon, I used 245C for the hot end with a cold build plate covered in 3M blue painter's tape ("Multi Surface! With EdgeLock!"). The ABS and nylon both have one or two small charred areas but are pretty decent, not much worse than I'd get with white ABS on the Dimension. A little stringy between the two knobs on the tops of the head and a little saggy in the rear-end (in all 3 materials), but overall pretty good.