Advice needed on loading filament into S5

Alzibiff
Go to solution Solved by Dustin,

Posted · Advice needed on loading filament into S5

I recently had my "previously enjoyed" S5 serviced by an Ultimaker distributor so I am happy that belts are tight, the machine is lubricated and settings are just as they should be. (This was within a couple of weeks of me buying the machine so I am still learning how to get the best out of it). The printer makes fantastic prints, not surprisingly a lot better than either of the RepRap machines I built in 2011.

However ..... I am having trouble when loading filament into either extruder. The filament gets as far as the print core and DOES enter the relevant print core but that is when the problem starts - the filament does not go far enough into the print core, it effectively gets stuck resulting in the feeder grinding away at the filament at the back of the machine. I get some filament coming out of the nozzle but believe this to be "ooze" rather than a proper stream of extruded material. Of course, when the print starts, the machine inevitably reports a Material Error within a short time as it thinks that there is no filament on the spool.

The only solution that I have found is to load the filament manually - heating up the print core and then having unfastened the Bowden tube at the print core end and released the tension on the feeder drive, I push the filament through by hand which is all very tedious. 

I suspect that I am doing something wrong although I HAVE tried snipping the filament to a point to try and make automatic loading easier for the machine to cope with. Help!!

• Solution

The following is a guide for loading materials on your UltiMaker S5 
    https://support.makerbot.com/s/article/1667417952533

However, it sounds more like your front fan isnt working properly?
    Make sure your front fan is clean and spinning properly when your print cores are heated.

1 hour ago, Dustin said: