3D printer not working with Ultimaker

BD123

Posted · 3D printer not working with Ultimaker

Hi, I am new to 3D printing and need some help.

I recently bought a Easythreed K9 3D printer. I wanted to buy something that is not real expensive so I can find out if I like 3D printing or not, then if I like it I can buy something a little  more expensive.

My printer come with some software and everything works just fine when I use there software.

But when I try to use Ultimaker software I have problems, the first is when I push the start button, no filament comes out. Before I start printing I make sure the filament is able to come out when feed filament before starting printing.

The second problem is when it starts, the print head stays about 3 inches above the bed, and the printer head moves around like it is printing and no filament comes out and the head never goes down to the bed.

Anybody know what the problem could be?

Thanks.

Posted (edited) · 3D printer not working with Ultimaker

A gcode file has sections.  The first section is usually statistics about the print.  The second is the StartUp Gcode and explains to the printer what temperature to work at, when to auto-home, how much to purge, etc.  After the main body of the print is the Ending Gcode that shuts the printer down in an orderly fashion.

In Cura go to Settings, Printers, Manage Printers, Machine Settings.  The two big text boxes are the StartUp and Ending Gcodes.  Copy the StartUp Gcode and paste it here.

Does the printer have an Auto Bed Leveler?

What printer definition did you use to install the printer in Cura (Monoprice Select Mini V2 was used for some Easyyhreeds).

Edited by GregValiant

It has the advantage of being simple and direct.

Some printers will home to "max" using commands other than the G28 command.  The G28 works for probably 95%  of all printers.

You could try splitting the G28 line into:

G28 X Y

G28 Z

and see if it makes a difference.