Lines not completed before printhead moves

OnCor

Posted · Lines not completed before printhead moves

Hi all. I've got a strange issue with Cura on my Creality K1. As some lines are printed the printhead moves before they are complete. I've attached a photo that shows a sizeable gap in the skirt line and some smaller gaps in the circles and wall of a print. The project has also been attached with the setting details. I do not have coasting or wiping enabled. I'm not sure why the printer isn't able to finish the lines. This also leaves a pretty prominent Z seam on the prints as well. Thanks in advance for any feedback/insight on this issue!

IMG_6132 - Copy.jpg

TFT Bottom.3mf

LOL! It's not actually. I have a CR10S Pro V2 that I've been printing with for a couple of years. I don't have this issue there and aside from machine specific settings everything is mostly the same between the two machines. I'm sure it could be something obvious, but I just can't seem to figure out why the K1 stops extruding so soon before moving on and leaving these gaps in the lines. What's even more strange is the fact that it does this most prominently on the skirt. The file I'm trying to print is the same one I've attached a photo of that came off my old printer. It's a two piece enclosure for a small display. I have this same issue regardless of the file I try to print though.

IMG_5876 - Copy.jpg

The glare in the image makes it hard to see, but the skirt doesn't really look squished to the bed.  If the leveling is off then you can get that.  The filament doesn't stay down and you can get a short "curl up" that sticks to the outside of the nozzle.

Maybe you need to touch up the Z offset.  As a test you could try turning up the "Initial Layer Flow" to maybe 110% and see if it makes a difference.