1st layer will not continuously print. HELP A NOOB OUT PLEASE!

wbriones

Posted · 1st layer will not continuously print. HELP A NOOB OUT PLEASE!

Hello team,

I'm very new to the printing community and I'm having an extremely hard time finding the right setting for a print. the print is a car door skin roughly 1.5mm thick. for the first layer it will lay out filament halfway through and then start a new layer, gradually making its way to the end of the print. By layer 5 it will have put down 1 "complete layer".  The issue with this is there is no compensation when printing over an area it hasn't printed yet, basically its printing in air and I've tried to z -offset it quickly but that does not work. In Cura, is there a setting I can select that will make the 1st layer one continuous layer from start to finish? I would assume that there is some type of setting that can make the 1st layer continuous, but I haven't found it.  Below are the settings I am using, the Cura version, a screen shot of how I have it oriented and the file itself. I appreciate all the help. 

Printer is Modix Big120X

Cura version 5.6.0

8mm Nozzle

.15mm layer height

print speed 40mms

nozzle temp 210 (220 is max)

bed temp 55 (60 is max)

image.png

1mm REAR RIGHT COBRA DOOR.obj

If you could provide the Cura project file (.3mf, get it ready to print then go to File > Save Project in Cura that would help a lot, as well as the gcode you're trying to print... and not to ask too much but a photo or something to show what's going wrong would really help.

But firstly:

1. Has the printer's bed been properly levelled?
    2. If the printer has an auto bed levelling sensor (which in most printers complements manually levelling, not replacing it) have you run an auto levelling function on it if it exists?
    3. Once you know the bed is properly levelled, have you configured the Z-offset manually?