Nozzle started hitting the bed during a print

glen4cindy

Posted · Nozzle started hitting the bed during a print

I'm just getting started with 3D printing and using Cura and I'm having some successes and failures along the way. This is one of each.

I had a print going that had 3 pieces. Without realizing it I still had a setting set in Cura that printed each piece one by one. This turned out to be a good thing, I suppose.

The first piece was printed successfully. Then it got to layer 137 or 138. The nozzle started hitting the bed. It moved a bit more and made more noise like it was dragging.

I'm almost certain my bed is level. I had to remove the glass to clean it before this print and I'm pretty sure I ran a level before I ran the print job.

Unfortunately, I didn't save the project so I can load it to be certain but, would Cura allow me to put something below the bed? Would it command the printer to move the nozzle lower than the level of the glass?

I used Prusa's GCode viewer to view the gcode and it doesn't look like the 2nd item is lower than the bed.

How can I tell for sure before I attempt to print again? Thanks in advance.

CFFFP_Cindy's_Charger_Holder.gcode

2 hours ago, glen4cindy said:

Unfortunately, I didn't save the project so I can load it to be certain but, would Cura allow me to put something below the bed? Would it command the printer to move the nozzle lower than the level of the glass?

Anything below the print bed will just get cut off during slicing, I can tell you that much. Give me a bit to look through your gcode and I'll see if anything stands out.

Okay, I'm sorry, but I can't help it, I'm a critic. Who did this startup gcode? Or is your printer just really strange?

M140 S60 ; SLASHEE: Not needed at all because no time passes between this and the M190 below.