slicing taking forever

1_idk_1

Posted · slicing taking forever

hello, im new to all this and i have a  question about Cura.  i have a character model that i sliced in zbrush into multiple parts, i think had to import each part separately onto the bed in Cura. a scale them, and separate them so they do not overlap, and then hit "slice". it just gets stuck slicing and there is no progress. is there a reason it wont do it? is it because i have multiple objects on the printer bed and it cant compute it? maybe a setting?

Posted · slicing taking forever

It sounds like you have a complex model - those will always take time to slice, especially depending on how good your computer is. If you exported straight out of zbrush, your model likely has a very high number of faces which is very computationally intensive to slice.

If you're running Windows, Microsoft's 3D builder app is actually pretty good, and has a function where it can "simplify" the model, reducing how complex model is while affecting its look as little as possible (you can generally achieve a fairly impressive reduction with no loss in quality, especially given the limits of your average 3D printer).

6 hours ago, 1_idk_1 said:

separate them so they do not overlap

Ironically it might actually be a bit quicker if they do overlap, and it would be best if you could do it as a single model. You might have to set the visible settings to "expert" or "all" to see some the settings I mention, but some things I think it's worth keeping in mind:

• Mesh Fixes > Union Overlapping Volumes will combine any models that overlap into a single model, which is easier to slice and will likely give you better results than placing multiple models immediately next to each other, but it's still nowhere near as good as just importing a single model.
    • Layer height and line width affect slicing time - shorter layers and thinner lines take longer to slice.