Cura setting(s) to stop brim curling off the build plate?

Go to solution Solved by Bumbletoon,

Posted (edited) · Cura setting(s) to stop brim curling off the build plate?

I'm having an issue with PEI build plate adhesion for a particular PLA that may just be garbage; Sunlu clear orange and opaque purple. PLA has been dried and print area moisture is about 20%.

Prints initially adhere fine and then seem to suffer acute shrink to the point where even brim printl curls up after a few minutes. It sits on the plate fine until the nozzle has done a few laps the it starts to curl.

I'm not experienced enough to know which way to go in Cura without resorting to glue, tape or hairspray. Other PLA and PLA+ has been printing fine.

I've tried nozzle at; 200, 210, 215 and 220 and plate at 60, 65 and 70. I've tried print speeds of 40, 50 and 60ms and slowed acceleration down to 300. I've also tried Low Quality and Standard print modes with resolution down to 0.25

With the plate at 70 the printed PLA gets pretty soft yet does seem to adhere better, but still curls. I feel if I could get it to stick it'd probably print okay.

The printer (Creality Ender 3 Si Pro) is in a sealed enclosure with ambient temp hovering around 25c / 77f.

The Sunlu spec for this printer and this PLA is 220 nozzle and 60 plate, speed 50ms and layer height of 0.26 and that was oddly the worst run tested.

Do I reduce initial cooling for the first layer in Cura? Hotter, colder?

I'm at the trial and error stage but don't know enough about Cura to know which way I should be going with settings even if this is something that can be overcome that way. Or likely a setting I don't know anything about.

Thank you!

Curling 1.jpg

Curling 2.jpg

Edited by Bumbletoon

• Bumbletoon changed the title to Cura setting(s) to stop brim curling off the build plate?
    • Solution