Gaps in the outside wall

Jonas28
Go to solution Solved by Jonas28,

Posted · Gaps in the outside wall

Hello, I'm new to 3D printing and have been having a problem for a few weeks. As you can see in the photo I have gaps in the outside wall. Spent several hours trying to fix this error. But I didn't manage anything. I've already changed the filling, changed the horizontal extension, but nothing worked. Finally I downloaded versions 5.6 and 5.3 and before that I completely deleted Cura. Nevertheless, the problems are still there. Now I have version 5.8, the latest. Could someone give me a tip?

image.png.a11bef578321aa5a812d675a43fb4f09.png

25 minutes ago, Jonas28 said:

Hello, could someone please give me a tip? Or am I the first with the problem

You don't need to bump your post after less than 12 hours, you know. Time zones and whatnot.

It would be really helpful if you could share a Cura project file (.3mf, get it set up then go to File > Save Project) so we can see all of your print settings.

As well, information like what printer do you have, what sort of filament are you using, anything that might be able to help. A photo usually isn't much to go by.

The obvious answer is underextrusion in the extreme (which can have any number of causes) but that's usually more regular, not sporadic like this. Although being able to see the curves of each line also makes me think underextrusion; the filament is not filling out to create a smooth surface - usually I have to break out my macro lens to demonstrate that effect.

Could be a layer adherence problem too. Often the cause of that is printing at too low a temperature... but not always.

It's also possible it's something wrong with the printer - the extruder can't feed reliably or something.

So all the info you can provide (and a project file) can help us try and narrow down the cause of this 🙂