Attempting to fix a clog --disassembled nozzle--noticed stuck temp sensor and heater

ajmonkey

Posted (edited) · Attempting to fix a clog --disassembled nozzle--noticed stuck temp sensor and heater

Hello! I've been enjoying my Ultimaker2 Ext for the past 2 months and it has worked out super awesome till late last night when I experienced a clog.

I tried unloading & loading filament--my newbie method for unclogging before--and this time it didn't work.

I read about the Atomic pull method--and it's a great technique--and that's also when I started to into more trouble--when I heated my extruder to 220 C pushed my filament into the extruder head--then pushed with a pin at the bottom as it cooled down to 90 C --- I waited a few minutes to pull and when I pulled--my extruder head pulled further into the fan duct housing---the extruder was now about flush to the fan housing.

I succeeded in disassembling the nozzle--pulled out the filament that got stuck in the PTFE coupler, I was going to go as far as to remove the thermometer & heater and it is stuck in the nozzle--which seems to be unmovable. As both are jammed flush right into the nozzle. Unfortunately the PTFE coupler was damaged when I tried to remove it--luckily I had a spare one from my CPE roll.

I cleaned out the nozzle as best as I could with the probes attached, and reassembled the extruder--when I restarted--the electronics seem to work fine--but no filament extrudes--I get a small "film/coating/bulb" of plastic forming around my nozzle--and nothing prints.

This morning I noticed that the Hot End Isolator Nut isn't flush with the bottom plating--it's sitting about 8mm above it.

I'm wondering what to do next for my trouble shooting:

Should I try to disassembly & reassemble the nozzle again--this time lining the Hot End Isolator Nut flush with the base plate?

Try the Atomic pull again?