Please help me with nozzle screw solutions!

Chelly005

Posted · Please help me with nozzle screw solutions!

Hi,

Im not sure how to word this, I'm new to 3d printing and I'm actually a hairdresser so please advise using lay man terms as I'm sure some technical words are beyond me!

I have an Ultimaker 2 Extended and was printing pretty steadily for 2 months, however then i started getting clogging, I'm not sure if its because i switched PLA to ABs and back etc. I did a few atomic pulls and it seemed to clear up but then it was clogging up again. So i then looked up how to remedy it and i followed a video to dismantle the nozzle part, then i was able to clear out some of the nozzle with a pokey tool and acetone. Then when i heat up and push abs through it was going through perfectly... Then i tried to screw everything back together and the heat nozzle screw, the one with the six holes out of the rim just wouldn't screw back on. so somehow the nozzle screw is damaged as the six holed one screws onto my new nozzle fine.... Sorry this is so long winded.. So then i was like then ill just replace the whole nozzle. However the screw that holds in the two sensors to the nozzle piece won't turn with the hex key. The 3 hex keys was able to dismantle everything except this one screw. Ive tried using pliers to turn it to no avail. Then i tried superglueing the hex key into the screw to get some grip but it just came loose..

Im sorry this was so long winded but don't know how else to describe my problem. I really hope someone has an idea on how i can remove that one screw!!!

Thank you so so much for any input and advice!!

Switching between ABS & PLA is always difficult. ABS bits get stuck in the nozzle and when printing with PLA they don't get quite hot enough to be pushed out of the nozzle.

I usually print at a higher temperature after i've switched from ABS in oder to purge the nozzle.