First layer not sticking on Ultimaker 2+

maxxiiboyy

Posted · First layer not sticking on Ultimaker 2+

Hi, I'm very new to 3d printing and I got myself an Ultimaker 2+, printed a couple of things with the standard PLA fillement you get with the Ultimaker and used some colorFabb XT Sky Blue and I got PERFECT prints all the time. Got one failed print but that was my fault only. Then I tried to print a dragon head, quite complex and large. The problem didn't occure with the size or the complexity. It was the problem that the first layer didn't stick right. I printed Frostmourne sword from world of warcraft a few days ago and one of the freestanding SMALL horns didn't work as intended, i thought nothing of it and just continued printing awesome prints. But ever since the first attempt at the dragon head I can't get the first layer to stick properly. I've tried everything I can (i think), lowering the temperature, raising it both with the bed and the nozzle. Tried different materials, tried raising the extrusion speed, lowering it. Tried to use the fans in MANY different setting with the first layer (and without fans). Tried glue on the print bed, the blue masking tape. And I re calibrated the print bed a few times, trying to low, to far up. Used another slicer. I Can't seem to get it to stick. Please help! Sorry for the bad spelling :)

Posted · First layer not sticking on Ultimaker 2+

Is it sticking at first but coming up too easily? If so then read below. Or is it never sticking in the first place? If never sticking at all, increase the bed temperature (sometimes the edges of the glass aren't hot enough for the first layer), also remove the glass and clean it very well - it may have some oil on it - also lower the nozzle - the nozzle might just be slightly too high. Much more likely though it sticks at first but peels up too easily. For that here is my standard response:

lifting corners, curling corners, part sticking to glass