Severe under extrusion and filament flow issues?

liammarosy

Posted · Severe under extrusion and filament flow issues?

Hi,

I am new to 3d printing. I have started working in my office and have taken over from another guy in doing the 3d prints on our ULTIMAKER ORIGINAL, using Slic3r.

Up until last week we had very clean, crisp prints. However in the last few days we have had serious issues with the prints. They were coming out under extruded or the fill wasn't meeting the edges. At first we thought this had something to do with settings, we fixed the problem temporarily, and then the prints got much worse.

What is now happening is the bed layer is extremely thin. 0.05 or something like that. The bed also contains gaps within the pattern and lines dont merge together but are rather independent of each other.

The prints are now also sticking to the glass heated bed because they are so thin!

We have adjusted the bed several times thinking it was out of alignment. We have also cleaned the nozzle with the atomic method, adjusted the spring of the feeder and cleaned the rough bolt in the feeder. This led to 1 or 2 initial lines which extruded fine. The rest of the print after that extruded extremely thin, and with the same problems mentioned before. I don't believe it is the settings anymore but rather an issue with the printer as these same default settings of ours printed just fine 1 week ago *with minor issues that seem perfect in comparison to what I have now.

The settings are

Ultimaker Original

Filament : PLA

Layer height = 0.2

First layer = 0.35

Fill Density = 40%

Solid Infill Threshold Area = 70mm2

Vertical shells = 2

Horizontal shells = top 3, bottom 3

perimeter_speed = 60mm/s

small perimeter speed = 60mm/s

bed_temperature = 45

bridge_fan_speed = 100

cooling = 1

disable_fan_first_layers = 3

extrusion_multiplier = 0.8

fan_always_on = 0

fan_below_layer_time = 60

filament_colour = #FFFFFF

filament_diameter = 2.85