ABS not sticking

grinnan

Posted · ABS not sticking

I am a newbie.

I can get the first layer or two to print however, then it literally breaks its seal from the bed and enjoys the ride with the extruder. I have tried, heating to 100C-bed, 260C-extruder, glue (thick and thin). Please advise.

IMG_0145.thumb.JPG.15794c1c6e6bc90f454ff759e58feae4.JPG IMG_0146.thumb.JPG.ba3a2f083d79d3e82cc44d263062fb85.JPG

IMG_0145.thumb.JPG.15794c1c6e6bc90f454ff759e58feae4.JPG

IMG_0146.thumb.JPG.ba3a2f083d79d3e82cc44d263062fb85.JPG

Posted · ABS not sticking

Hi, grinnan,

When you slice your file, have you tried turning off your fans in Cura? It sounds like the print may be coming off after your fans turn on. When I print ABS (I mostly print in PLA) I print it without the side fans on at all. You can disable them in Cura under Advanced --> Cooling --> Enable Cooling Fan.

I also frequently put a cover (usually a piece of plastic) across the front of my machine if printing ABS, just to help keep the ambient temperature inside the machine a little warmer. ABS comes off the bed so easily because it shrinks as it cools, causing it to warp, and that's what causes it to lift from the bed, so anything you can do that slows down the cooling process should help.

You may also want to try printing with a brim, so that the brim may warp rather than your main part.

Posted (edited) · ABS not sticking