Ultimaker 2+ technical documentation

Posted · Ultimaker 2+ technical documentation

Dear Ultimaker Community,

im new to this forum and i'm planning to try some modifications on our half year old Ultimaker 2+ Extended.

I'm an engineering student, searching a project for bachelor thesis, and maybe an Ultimaker modification will be suitable. My special field is production technology.

Parallel to my study, I have been working in our family business for a couple of years now. We are developing and manufacturing medical devices and medical supply units, so I have access to machinery like cnc milling and turning machines.

I'm specially interested in making an enclosure (which shouln't be that hard) and a new approach on dual extrusion.

Right now, I'm having hard times to get some information about the ultimaker.

I found the 3d-models on Github, but I can't find an electrical documentation.

I have these questions by the moment:

• Where to connect a second stepper/temp-sensor/heater for dual extrusion?
  • Is there an official firmware which supports dual extrusion?
  • Is there really a problem with the power supply? I read that you get trouble when using two 35W heaters, but two 25W are fine. What is the Ultimaker standard? 25W?
  • Is there the possibility to connect an small stepper motor (just for tool change)?

Can I get this kind of information at any place? I don't want to burden the community with every small question i have.

Thank you for any help, I hope I can return it someday.

Regards,

Alex

Where to connect a second stepper/temp-sensor/heater for dual extrusion?

Is there an official firmware which supports dual extrusion?

On the board you have the second heater/pt100/extruder. Read the pdf of the board googling 'github ultimaker 2'

Official firmware no. I think tinkergnome firmware or just editing your own Marlin it's the way to go.