Jump to content

Cura 2.3.1 merge models problem


jazzychad

Recommended Posts

Posted (edited) · Cura 2.3.1 merge models problem

I am having some trouble with merged models in Cura 3.2.1 (Mac 10.11.5) - using Ultimaker 3

By way of example, here is what I'm doing:

I am printing some letter tiles. I have several .stl files, but the main process for each tile is:

- add Tile.stl to the build plate

- add {Letter}.stl to the build plate

- select the Letter and change the Per Model Setting to Blue PLA (2nd extruder head)

- select the Letter and the blank Tile and right click -> Merge Models

- Cmd-click the Letter inside the merged model and change the Z position to be correct (so Letter is raised above tile: Tile is 5mm tall, Letter is 3mm tall, but set Z position to 4 so 1mm is 'inside' Tile and 2mm stick up)

Repeat for each letter, and you get something like this:

qHLHeCy.png

Now, normally when things are merged correctly the slicing will result in the dual extrusion interface to be printed starting at layer 18 (as seen in next screenshot) - except that sometimes it doesn't! This can be seen in the 2nd column of tiles which only show printing the triangular infill

z3QpBoD.jpg

More curiously, it looks like both extruders are printing in all the layers where the 2 models overlap for the 1mm inside the tile, the screenshot below shows what would be the top layer of the tile, and the 2nd column is again different from the 1st and 3rd column of tiles.

vh3c52R.png

Sometimes if I just move the merged model around the build plate enough it will magically slice it correctly. I haven't found any pattern or steps to reliably reproduce this behavior. It seems like a bug to me, but maybe I am misunderstanding something or am adding too many separate models to the plate..?

Another clue that they aren't quite merged together correctly:

- If I select a correctly merged model and press Backspace/Delete key, it will remove the model from the build plate.

- If I select an incorreclty merged model and press Backspace/Delete key, it will NOT remove the model from the build plate... but if I right click and select Delete Model, only ONE of the pieces of the merged model is deleted, and the other remains on the build plate.

So, it is acting as if the two models are just existing in the same space, and are somehow grouped together b/c I can move them around as a group, but they are not being sliced as if they are a merged model.

Edited by Guest
  • Link to post
    Share on other sites

    Posted · Cura 2.3.1 merge models problem

    Do i understand you correctly that you try to merge a blank tile (with no letter cut out) with a letter? I think it's logical that in this case cura will print double on the overlap.

    I think the best and most accurate way to do this thing is to create 2 stl's for each tile, one with the letter and one with the tile that has the letter cut out. Set the right depth and position already in CAD, so you don't need to fiddle with the Z height in Cura, this way you get consistent quality.

  • Link to post
    Share on other sites

    Create an account or sign in to comment

    You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

    Create an account

    Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

    Register a new account

    Sign in

    Already have an account? Sign in here.

    Sign In Now
    • Our picks

      • S-Line Firmware 8.3.0 was released Nov. 20th on the "Latest" firmware branch.
        (Sorry, was out of office when this released)

        This update is for...
        All UltiMaker S series  
        New features
         
        Temperature status. During print preparation, the temperatures of the print cores and build plate will be shown on the display. This gives a better indication of the progress and remaining wait time. Save log files in paused state. It is now possible to save the printer's log files to USB if the currently active print job is paused. Previously, the Dump logs to USB option was only enabled if the printer was in idle state. Confirm print removal via Digital Factory. If the printer is connected to the Digital Factory, it is now possible to confirm the removal of a previous print job via the Digital Factory interface. This is useful in situations where the build plate is clear, but the operator forgot to select Confirm removal on the printer’s display. Visit this page for more information about this feature.
          • Like
        • 0 replies
      • Ultimaker Cura 5.6 stable released
        Cura now supports Method series printers!
         
        A year after the merger of Ultimaker and MakerBotQQ, we have unlocked the ability for users of our Method series printers to slice files using UltiMaker Cura. As of this release, users can find profiles for our Method and Method XL printers, as well as material profiles for ABS-R, ABS-CF, and RapidRinse. Meaning it’s now possible to use either Cura or the existing cloud-slicing software CloudPrint when printing with these printers or materials
        • 48 replies
    ×
    ×
    • Create New...