Possible to print with out Blobs and Zits at 0.2mm?

BumbleDuck

Posted (edited) · Possible to print with out Blobs and Zits at 0.2mm?

Hey all,

I'm having a devil of a time trying to calibrate my Ultimaker 3 to print cleanly at 0.2mm. I have had this issue with many different PLA filaments.  I want to print at 0.2mm for speed purposes and I am ok with some lines and striations on the prints. However, I would like to avoid blobs and zits and have done a lot of research on retraction and coasting settings. Unfortunately, nothing that I have tried implementing has worked.

I was wondering if anyone has had successful prints without blobs on their ultimaker 3. And if so if they had any suggestions on what settings they changed to get successful prints, if they had to at all.

I've listed the retraction and coasting settings and my interpretation of them below. Perhaps I am wrong in my assessment of some of these? I apologize if so as I am still a novice though I have tried to do research before posting to the forum.

Retraction

Retraction Distance - The length of material retracted. My understanding is that this should be a high value for clean prints (especially to avoid stringing)

Retraction Speed -  The speed that material is retracted. My understanding is that this should be a high value for clean prints.

Retraction prime speed and extra prime amount - Ok here's where I get a little confused. Cura says that the extra prime amount is an extra amount of filament that's "primed" to compensate for lost material that oozes away in a travel move. This sounds similar to "extra restart distance" from  this guide from simplify3d, which recommends a negative value to stop overpriming as most blobs and zits seem to come from extra filament. Negative values makes the input box yellow, but the print will still slice and print.