Some observations about the new forum

nzo

Posted (edited) · Some observations about the new forum

I find this hard to say clearly, having lived with the old forum for a longish time and the new forum for only a short time.
Although the old forum had some long-time bugs and as a beginner i found it hard to get a handle on it, it had a certain order to how the content was arranged. I knew fairly accurately where to go to find stuff. Now the flow of the forum feels broken and 'lumped' together.

My impression is that the new forum came about from a desire to fix those old bugs and to make the forum more user friendly.

But somewhere the baby has been thrown out with the bathwater. Bugs aside, I liked the ordering of main and sub categories of the old forum. It now feels as if you are trying to reinvent the wheel and to make it new, new, new.

It reminds me of the Windows range of operating systems where each new OS version becomes more and more complex and difficult to navigate and instead of a wonder of user-friendly design it becomes a lame duck, with hard-won learning curves tossed aside and users left to sink, swim or drowned in information overload.

Perhaps the forum team can now have some time out to be with your friends and families and come back to the forum when you're refreshed and clear-headed.

Einstein, and later Bernaud Mandelbrot (the discoverer of fractals), were highly aware that underneath the enormous complexity of the universe there are very simple foundations and order.

Have a great Christmas and New Year.

Edited by nzo

Posted · Some observations about the new forum

Hi @nzo

Thank you for your message and sharing your feedback with us. Time will tell, but I can imagine some of the things you experience will just require some getting used to.