Hello! Complete Newbie Here

AmateurCatArmaments

Posted · Hello! Complete Newbie Here

Greetings all,

I bought a 3D printer last week on impulse because it's been something I've been wanting to do for years. My coworker has the same printer as the one I got (Monoprice Delta Mini Select V2), and he isn't as technical, and so as I set things up and researched them I documented my steps and took pictures in order to help him out.

I ended up turning what I did into blog format since it's the easiest way to organize it all. I figure it might be useful if others were new or had suggestions on other things I could research and try. 

So far I've set up the printer, hooked up my old Rpi w/ OctoPrint, got a webcam to explore OctoLapse / YouTube Live, and printed a handful of objects.

I'm painting my first set of things, and I am excited to learn more and become part of the 3D printing communities. ?

I'm not sure the best place to post things like this, but as I went along setting things up there were definitely instructions that were outdated or maybe weren't as detailed as a novice like myself would required. I also include many cat pictures, because I love cats. ?

My blog is https://catgeek.blog and I would love to get some feedback. I have a lot of content that outlines everything I did over the span of the first 6 days with the printer. Most of my new posts are going to focus on more fun things like the projects I'm working on.

Anyway, I would love some feedback and suggestions on where else I could share, I would hope to encourage people to jump into 3D printing like myself and leverage what I learned to have a more streamlined experience.

Good on you to share your experiences with the blog on your printer! I am sure that it will be helpful to people using your printer. And, if extending to how you set up your print files would be good also.

Bravo ?

Welcome!

I wish you the best of luck and I'm certain that you will be as hooked as the rest of us!