Jump to content

Cura Backup Plugin - Cura version issue


flowalistik

Recommended Posts

Posted · Cura Backup Plugin - Cura version issue

Hi everyone!

 

Today I got a new laptop, and it was time for me to backup and restore all my printers and profiles. While doing it, I ran into a frustrating issue, which affects the user experience. Here's what happened and how I solved it:

 

  • Old laptop with Cura 3.4.1 installed. I have many machines and profiles, all backed up.
  • New laptop has Cura 3.5.1, and no machines and profiles yet.
  • I download Cura Backup in the new laptop, I log in and try to restore the backup, only to find the following message:

 

cura_backup_error.PNG.07e87070554da98b1a48314c5cd92298.PNG

 

Yes, it's frustrating to get this message, as I can imagine it will be quite common to get a new laptop and download the latest version of Cura, while you may still be using an older version. And yes, I still use Cura 15.04. I tried to download Cura 3.4.1 in my new laptop, but for some reason, the toolbox didn't load all the plugins, including Cura Backup.

 

This is how I solved it:

 

  • Downloaded and installed Cura 3.5.1 in my old laptop, which already has Cura 3.4.1.
  • Download de Cura Backup plugin in my old laptop (Cura 3.5.1) and backup everything. It's literally the same backup I created in Cura 3.4.1, but hey, the Cura Backup plugin can be quite picky.
  • Open Cura 3.5.1 in my new laptop and restore the new backup made with Cura 3.5.1.

 

This can be a slow method, as having multiple Cura versions in the same laptop can mess a little bit with the profiles and it's confusing, but until it's fixed, it should work!

 

Message to Cura devs: we really appreciate how much love you put into Cura, but please, allow us to restore backups made using different Cura versions. A partial solution should be a disclaimer that warned us that restoring backups made in different Cura versions may cause a black hole! 

  • Link to post
    Share on other sites

    Posted · Cura Backup Plugin - Cura version issue

    I just looked at the code and it was explicitly set to behave this way. Why this was done, I don't know, as Cura should be perfectly able to restore older data, since it has upgrade scripts.

     

    I will investigate a bit more to figure out why it's configured this way (and if there is no reason for it, change it) 

  • Link to post
    Share on other sites

    • 4 months later...
    Posted · Cura Backup Plugin - Cura version issue

    how did you sign in so you can restore your profiles? im using the same version of cura i was before so it should be extremely easy but somehow i cannot for the life of me figure out how to find out where i can restore my backups

  • Link to post
    Share on other sites

    Posted · Cura Backup Plugin - Cura version issue

    In older versions of Cura, you needed to download the backup plugin from the marketplace. 

     

    Also; The restoring backups from older versions has been fixed. From 4.1 onward you should be able to restore backups from previous versions.

  • Link to post
    Share on other sites

    Create an account or sign in to comment

    You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

    Create an account

    Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

    Register a new account

    Sign in

    Already have an account? Sign in here.

    Sign In Now
    • Our picks

      • UltiMaker Cura 5.7 stable released
        Cura 5.7 is here and it brings a handy new workflow improvement when using Thingiverse and Cura together, as well as additional capabilities for Method series printers, and a powerful way of sharing print settings using new printer-agnostic project files! Read on to find out about all of these improvements and more. 
         
          • Like
        • 18 replies
      • S-Line Firmware 8.3.0 was released Nov. 20th on the "Latest" firmware branch.
        (Sorry, was out of office when this released)

        This update is for...
        All UltiMaker S series  
        New features
         
        Temperature status. During print preparation, the temperatures of the print cores and build plate will be shown on the display. This gives a better indication of the progress and remaining wait time. Save log files in paused state. It is now possible to save the printer's log files to USB if the currently active print job is paused. Previously, the Dump logs to USB option was only enabled if the printer was in idle state. Confirm print removal via Digital Factory. If the printer is connected to the Digital Factory, it is now possible to confirm the removal of a previous print job via the Digital Factory interface. This is useful in situations where the build plate is clear, but the operator forgot to select Confirm removal on the printer’s display. Visit this page for more information about this feature.
          • Like
        • 0 replies
    ×
    ×
    • Create New...