Bridge settings for ABS

Zbyszko

Posted · Bridge settings for ABS

Hi, I'm a relative novice at 3D printing and up until recently have been printing in PLA without much issue.  I need to print some functional parts with higher temp tolerance so I purchased a roll of Inland ABS and did some test prints.  In general, everything is fine - but bridges are horrendous.  The temp tower in the image used no fans at all.  To try to find some reasonable bridging settings I used the experimental bridging settings in Cura 3.6 and printed seven 5cm bridges with different per-model settings.  I set the min bridge wall length to 5mm and then varied the speed, flow, and fan settings between the models.  As you can see in the second attachment  I was not very successful.  Aside from needing some advice on what are good starter ABS settings for bridging I'd like to ask the following questions.

1. Is bridging fan speed influenced by other settings in Cura?  Reason I'm asking is:
    • I had "Enable Print Cooling" set to on with a Fan speed of 0 and bridging fans speeds I used were 20 and 45% but I don't think that the fan kicked on at all.  
    • I tried the fan commands (which I confirmed were present in the g-code) manually and the fan kicked on but it was pretty slow on the 20% setting. 
    • Is there a setting to "blip" the fan for a fraction of a second to ensure that the fan overcomes static-friction?
  2. I there a way to highlight bridges and when fan are on in the slicer view?  I would be helpful to check visually without having to look through the g-code.
  3. What should I try next?

My setup: Wanhao duplicator i3 with Micro Swiss all-metal head, in cardboard/plexiglass enclosure.

Print speed: 50mm/s

Print temp: from 240 - 270  (extruder was struggling at 235 so more recent attempts have been at 240C min)

Bridge settings: varied; on the bridge trial I tried 30 and 60mm/s bridging speed with 70 and 90% flow.

Thank you for the help!

20190127_121433.jpg