No communication when power is turned on

mentat101

Posted · No communication when power is turned on

Hello all,

This is my first time posting since building my machine a month ago. I had a couple of minor issues with the build, but they should not impact the problems this post addresses. When I was attempting my first print with Netfabb Engine for Ultimaker and the stock firmware (5D), communication was established (manual worked fine, even the extrusion), I generated a toolpath, preheated the head, then started the print. It would subsequently lock up and disconnect after a minute. When I would reconnect, it would say the build was ended. Because this persisted no matter how preheated it was, I gave up and I tried generating a gcode with Netfabb and printing it with ReplicatorG 23. This program would also connect and the manual control would work (except for the extruder). This program would start the print. If I had a raft generated, it would output a decent amount of plastic for the raft, but would basically stop extruding when the print began. I checked to make sure there were no jams a couple of times and the bolt was not slipping; maybe a jam once, otherwise no problems. I tried fiddling with the potentiometer on the extruder driver, being careful not to turn it more than halfway; no results other than a slightly hotter extruder motor. I then tried swapping two of the drivers; no difference. Ruling out a driver problem, I tried ReplicatorG 26. This drove the extruder properly with manual controls, but the same issues persisted during the print. I put it away for a week while I pondered the issues.