First layer of file from Cura is printing too high

jjcschmidt

Posted · First layer of file from Cura is printing too high

I am having difficulty printing from all Cura files. They all print too high on the z axis.  I am using  Creality Ender 3 for printing.  Any suggestions on how to fix this? (I am new to 3D printing.)

There is a setting in Cura under "Quality" called "Initial Layer Height".  It sets the height for Layer 1 and I think the default is .28mm.  It does not change automatically when you change the regular layer height.

If the setting isn't visible, slide the cursor across the Quality bar and click on the gear icon.  Then check the box for Initial Layer Height.

• 2 months later...

I was having the pretty much the exact same issue, Ender 3 - Cura 4.7. My initial layer height was set to .2mm, what ended up working for me was installing the z offset plugin from the cura marketplace, setting that to -0.1 and setting initial flow to %115. Gave me a good first layer with solid adhesion, didn't have to mess with the gcode or anything else. 

• Like 1

• 3 months later...

I can confirm that this bug is still present in the latest version of Cura. The piece of paper levelling system is irrelevant as the Cura generated G-code appears to fail to reset Z to 0 after the nozzle cleaning lines. The only work around I have for this so far, is to quickly reset the Z offset on the printer at the start of each print. 

• Like 1

I have the exact same problem with my Ender 3 Pro.

Here is my gcode :)

;Generated with Cura_SteamEngine 4.8.0
    M140 S65
    M105
    M190 S65
    M104 S210
    M105
    M109 S210
    M82 ;absolute extrusion mode
    ; Ender 3 Custom Start G-code
    G92 E0 ; Reset Extruder
    G28 ; Home all axes
    G1 Z2.0 F3000 ; Move Z Axis up little to prevent scratching of Heat Bed
    G1 X0.1 Y20 Z0.3 F5000.0 ; Move to start position
    G1 X0.1 Y200.0 Z0.3 F1500.0 E15 ; Draw the first line
    G1 X0.4 Y200.0 Z0.3 F5000.0 ; Move to side a little