Cura 4.6.1 New User Stupid Questions

toysbyus

Posted · Cura 4.6.1 New User Stupid Questions

Please excuse the stupidity of the questions that am asking. I replaced an old Makerbot FDM printer when it crapped out with an AnyCubic i3S which so far works like a charm.........I was used to the Makerware slicing appl. and Cura is a new thing for an older guy so here goes:

1) How can I soon in to view the new stl file once I load it into Cura?

2) Can I change the units from MM to inches?

I'm 73 so please be patient.........I follow directions well so show me the way and I'll happily follow along.

I'm a retired toy designer (GI Joe, Star Wars, Star Trek, Transformers, slot cars and aircraft....and on and on......

Thanks in advance for your help!

Stay well and safe!

Steve (AKA Slipstream)

mouse wheel zooms.  Alternate: + and - keys (either on main keyboard or on keypad - doesn't matter.  "=" works same as "+")

Right click and drag to orbit (or the 4 arrow keys work if you click on the grid away from any part first)

shift+right click and drag to pan

I use all three of those actions.  Everytime I use cura.

Middle mouse drag also does something (maybe?) but I don't have a middle mouse so I'm not sure what.

#2 - No.  Cura programmers all are in Europe and feel that inches is a barbarian measurement.  There is a barbarian plugin but doesn't allow you to view in inches (pretty sure).  It only allows you to convert STL files from inches to mm.

Metric is something you may just have to learn.  I find having a metric ruler around and if you memorize 1cm (how big it is) a few times, it gets easy fast.  The visible grid in Cura has 1cm (10mm) squares for reference.

Hello gr5!

Thanks so much......there it was RIGHT in front of me, the "zoom" function. Knew that it had to be there BUT haven't spent much time with Cura yet...but surely will so thanks for directing me to the appropriate commands.