Anycubic Mega X control problems

Posted · Anycubic Mega X control problems

Hi, newbie here, and I'm just starting to use a new Anycubic Mega X printer, which installed Cura as its control software. When asked, I updated to the latest Cura version (4.6.2).

I can open STL files and set basic things, and send to the printer. What I'm having trouble with is setting flow rate (and I think speed, probably other things). For example, I adjust flow rate in general, and see that it's propagated to the various things using flow rate, and then Print. But the line of material remains super thin; and I can feel it tugging along into the feeder motor at the same rate, without change. I've bumped it up to 150%, no change.

Is there something I have to do to make the printer allow this control? Or something else I'm missing? 

Thanks for any pointers!

I don't know much about that printer.  Looks like an open frame design likely running Marlin firmware.  There are general things that can be checked though.

Check within Cura and find the filament diameter.  Make sure it is set to 1.75mm.

Check that the "Firmware Flavor" matches your machine (Marlin?).

Check that the nozzle setting reflects what you actually have installed.

If the printer came with an SD card are there sample Gcode files on it?  I would start by printing one of the samples to make sure everything is working as it should.

It looks like the machine has an adjuster for filament tension on the extruder.  Make sure there is no slippage there when extruding.

Have you calibrated the steps/mm of all 4 axis?  If the printer is told to push 100mm and it only pushes 90mm then there will be under-extrusion.

When you change the Flow in Cura, all the other flows should update to match it.  Double check "Initial Layer Flow".  Make sure that one matches the rest of them.

There are downsides to printing over the USB.  I much prefer using the SD card.