slicing my design, not for the print etc, but to tile a larger design?

JonasEH

Posted · slicing my design, not for the print etc, but to tile a larger design?

So hi I'm new to the world of 3D printing, and Cura seems to be a little overwhelming until you've used it a bit, but here's my question about large prints. 

I've got a large (wide) design that's bigger than my print area, is there a way to tile it into several separate prints? like you would if in 2D print you printed on 4 sheets of paper for a larger print?

my 3D software is at its limit and struggles with the design, let alone slicing it up before hand.  

or alternatively is there another program that can "tile" it prior to import to Cura?

Posted (edited) · slicing my design, not for the print etc, but to tile a larger design?

"...like you would if in 2D print you printed on 4 sheets of paper for a larger print".

You pose an interesting question.  The short answer is "yes you can".  My question is "do you really want to?".  

It really takes a lot of thought to move those separate pieces of paper around on your kitchen table, align them to each other, and then tape them together so they don't move when you cut out the full shape with scissors.  Part of that "process" is to make sure that each piece of paper has witness lines that will line up with the next piece of paper.  That gets done ahead of time, not when you have them on the kitchen table.

By fudging the build plate size in Machine Settings, changing the Home Offset in your printer, and using support blockers you can get Cura to slice the model within your "real" build plate area.  With the support blockers configured as "Cutting Mesh" you could print it in sections and then screw or glue the sections together.