Jump to content

Disallowed area or other setting only on Ultimaker 3


jacobdobbratz

Recommended Posts

Posted · Disallowed area or other setting only on Ultimaker 3

If you select only one extruder, more specifically only extruder 2, then the build area changes. I can't see were in the definition file this is set up or how to replicate it. Could someone help me to understand how this is done and if it is possible to do it on my own definition files? I looked into both the Ultimaker 3 definition file as well as each extruder but there didn't seem to be a setting that differed from the Ultimaker 5 which doesn't change the build volume area when selecting different extruders. (Cura 4.11.0) The two images below show the desired results but I'd like to replicate them for a custom printer/extruder definition file.

image.png

image.png

  • Link to post
    Share on other sites

    Posted · Disallowed area or other setting only on Ultimaker 3

    This does not require an answer anymore.
     

    I understand now how this setting works. The "machine_nozzle_offset_x": is the source of the disallowed areas moving with each extruder being selected. The nozzle offset will be applied to whatever nozzle is active and if both are active in the settings then the disallowed areas will be copied/shifted  and overlaid for both heads.

  • Link to post
    Share on other sites

    Posted · Disallowed area or other setting only on Ultimaker 3

    You were faster 🙂

    The reason for the difference to the S5 is that the UM3 has not enough space for the head to get with both nozzles to all areas of the build plate.

  • Link to post
    Share on other sites

    Create an account or sign in to comment

    You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

    Create an account

    Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

    Register a new account

    Sign in

    Already have an account? Sign in here.

    Sign In Now
    • Our picks

      • UltiMaker Cura 5.7 stable released
        Cura 5.7 is here and it brings a handy new workflow improvement when using Thingiverse and Cura together, as well as additional capabilities for Method series printers, and a powerful way of sharing print settings using new printer-agnostic project files! Read on to find out about all of these improvements and more. 
         
          • Like
        • 18 replies
      • S-Line Firmware 8.3.0 was released Nov. 20th on the "Latest" firmware branch.
        (Sorry, was out of office when this released)

        This update is for...
        All UltiMaker S series  
        New features
         
        Temperature status. During print preparation, the temperatures of the print cores and build plate will be shown on the display. This gives a better indication of the progress and remaining wait time. Save log files in paused state. It is now possible to save the printer's log files to USB if the currently active print job is paused. Previously, the Dump logs to USB option was only enabled if the printer was in idle state. Confirm print removal via Digital Factory. If the printer is connected to the Digital Factory, it is now possible to confirm the removal of a previous print job via the Digital Factory interface. This is useful in situations where the build plate is clear, but the operator forgot to select Confirm removal on the printer’s display. Visit this page for more information about this feature.
          • Like
        • 0 replies
    ×
    ×
    • Create New...