Filament problem with new Ultimaker 2

prb4

Posted · Filament problem with new Ultimaker 2

Hi

I received my Ultimaker 2 yesterday.

I have followed the setup instructions. Everything worked until I came to load the filament.

The filament loads ok and zooms down the Bowden tube, then nothing happens.

No plastic comes out the nozzle.

I am new to 3d printing, this is my first printer and I don't know what to do now.

I would be grateful for any assistance.

Thanks

Peter

Morning Peter !

When you did the startup process. did the screen say first.. heating up hotend..or prepairing.. something like that ?

the progress bar would have been filling up as the hotend heated up.

When that was finished and the extrider at the back of your printer should have started slowly rotating.. to allow you to load your pla...

When the pla is grabbed and pushed up the bowden tube, it sometimes can take even a minute or two before the pla gets down into the hotend and start coming out....

Did you let the process work alone for a few minutes ?

Was the extruder pushing the filament ?

you can put your finger on the filament just before it enters the extruder and feel it moving...

You could also take a little piece of broken off pla and push it carefully against the brass hotend nozzle. it should actually melt... if it doesnt... then there seems to be something wrong with your hotend..

check that the heating cartridge and heat sensor are securely fastened and tight fit into the alu heating block !

if that all seems perfect.. then it might be worth opening the lid on the bottom electronics and check the connectors for the hotend... make sure they are all connected and tight.

hope this helps.

Ian :-)