print times

cmenacer

so im new to 3d printing and i have really lost interest immediately when i started slicing projects do to build times . i do not modify spec i just upload and slice . can someone please tell me why such a simple file would take 22 hours to print ? i have attatched the file . i truly hope there is a setting im missing .

thank you in advance for your inputs 

DriveSprocketBase03.STL

Load that STL in Cura.  Set up everything the way you like.  Use the "File | Save Project" command to save it as a 3mf file.  Post the 3mf file here.  A project 3mf file has your printer, the model, and all the settings in it.

I get 6:11 minutes for print time.  There are several settings that affect print time.  If you have dense infill it can take a lot of time to print.

I believe you did an "Export" instead of a "Save Project".  They both create 3mf files but an Export is just the model whereas a Project File contains everything you have within Cura at the time.  So try again using "Save Project".

FDM is not a fast process.  You can push the nozzle size, and the print speed, and some other things but at the end of the day it just isn't fast.

I know there are a lot of long prints out there.  My personal record is a 32hr print immediately followed by a 22hr print.  The two parts make up the tour pack on the back of my motorized bike.

978609527_DBike1.thumb.JPG.a19c8de849c27e4f8cdea1888dea7514.JPG

Your long print time is because you have the infill at 100% density.

To the upper right of the Save to Disk button is an (!) icon and after slicing if you hover the mouse over it there will be a breakdown of where all the time is spent.  At 100% infill, all the infill is considered "Skin" and that is where the vast majority of the print time is.