Opening project files - VS - Keeping profiles, material- and printer settings clean (update / create new)

denkgeraeusch

Posted · Opening project files - VS - Keeping profiles, material- and printer settings clean (update / create new)

Hi 🙂

I'm new to Cura slicer, so please correct me, if I'm understanding things wrong here regarding how cura project files work.

A classic usecase of opening old project files in cura imho is to print them on the printer currently configured, with the material currently configured (as this is what is available at the moment in your workshop). Nevertheless, one would want to load the print settings that were once saved to that cura project file to continue, where you left off. At the same time one would likely want to compare these old print settings to the current profile.

In contrast to that usecase, at the moment cura either loads everything or nothing from the old cura project file while only providing the option to overwrite current setups or create new setups. This either leads to months-old configurations having your current setup overwritten (who would want that?) or it leads to a mess of profiles, printers and materials. I think, opening an old project file should focus more on the classic usecase described before.

Short | The Goal / Request:
Assume you want to open an old .3mf Cura project to your current Cura setup. It should be possible to load the print settings profile contained in this old .3mf-file while neither overwriting the current profile nor creating a new profile or changing the current printer and material setup.