Jump to content

[Feature Request] Pause / Cancel "are you sure" toggle


Branden11

Recommended Posts

Posted · [Feature Request] Pause / Cancel "are you sure" toggle

Hi,

I am new to these Forums. Have been using the ultimaker S3 and S5 models for about 2 years. The firmware updates are great and I have an idea that may help others (well, and me to be honest).

 

So, we have alot of Sales people, curious techs, and other high lvl personnel that love to come and see the 3d printers at work. In an attempt to impress clients or just curiosity, they have learned that you can swipe from right to left and it will show what's being printed (this is a really cool feature). Unfortunately, sometimes they hit the Pause or Stop button... This usually ends in a phone call and someone freaking out on the other end. The prints usually come out ok considering the Ultimaker is a superior printer to anything else I have used.

 

So what if, there was a way that a prompt would come up, like the one that comes up when you abort a print asking if you want to retry. but this prompt basically says "are you sure you want to pause" or "are you sure you want to cancel". I'd imagine it as a white background screen (considering the backgrounds usually black) so it alerts the "user" that they are inquiring about stopping the active print. Or maybe this already exists and I just cant find the toggle to turn it on.

 

Either way it would allow people to see it, touch it, and not interupt the prints.

 

and no I do Not support people touching the printers... but sometimes the people that cut your checks wana touch things they own...

  • Link to post
    Share on other sites

    Posted · [Feature Request] Pause / Cancel "are you sure" toggle

    Terrible when people touch your production machine.

    For aborting the print, the printer already aks the extra question 'Are sure you want to abort this print?'

    Pausing a print is not destructive, you can resume later. Having an extra security question here would be annoying for most users.

     

    So, when you say that prints are failing, then it seems to me that the person touching the machine is doing more than just that. In my opinion, people should not touch a production machine. For this, we have a great feature in the Digital Factory / Cluster interface: a pin code. This locks the local touch screen and only with a pin code it can be unlocked.

  • Link to post
    Share on other sites

    Create an account or sign in to comment

    You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

    Create an account

    Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

    Register a new account

    Sign in

    Already have an account? Sign in here.

    Sign In Now
    • Our picks

      • UltiMaker Cura 5.7 stable released
        Cura 5.7 is here and it brings a handy new workflow improvement when using Thingiverse and Cura together, as well as additional capabilities for Method series printers, and a powerful way of sharing print settings using new printer-agnostic project files! Read on to find out about all of these improvements and more. 
         
          • Like
        • 7 replies
      • S-Line Firmware 8.3.0 was released Nov. 20th on the "Latest" firmware branch.
        (Sorry, was out of office when this released)

        This update is for...
        All UltiMaker S series  
        New features
         
        Temperature status. During print preparation, the temperatures of the print cores and build plate will be shown on the display. This gives a better indication of the progress and remaining wait time. Save log files in paused state. It is now possible to save the printer's log files to USB if the currently active print job is paused. Previously, the Dump logs to USB option was only enabled if the printer was in idle state. Confirm print removal via Digital Factory. If the printer is connected to the Digital Factory, it is now possible to confirm the removal of a previous print job via the Digital Factory interface. This is useful in situations where the build plate is clear, but the operator forgot to select Confirm removal on the printer’s display. Visit this page for more information about this feature.
          • Like
        • 0 replies
    ×
    ×
    • Create New...