Jump to content

Save and Save As


FjieldCNC

Recommended Posts

Posted · Save and Save As

I'm trying to understand why Cura doesn't have a Save As option.  It looks like to save my project I have to use the Save command, which then asks me if I want to overwrite my project...  And when I say yes, it then gives me a notification that my project has changed and asks whether I want to reload it.

 

Also, it doesn't appear to care if the project has changed when I close Cura, as it doesn't ask me to save it.

 

What am I missing?  I'm using Cura 5.0.0 on Windows.  Thanks!

  • Link to post
    Share on other sites

    Posted · Save and Save As
    10 hours ago, FjieldCNC said:

    I'm trying to understand why Cura doesn't have a Save As option.

     

    Because originally, Cura did not have the notion of saving a project. The workflow for which Cura is architected is "load one or more models, save gcode". The concept of a "project" was bolted on later.

     

    Personally, I think the "Save..." vs "Save as..." problem itself is fairly trivial (what's a couple of extra mouseclicks), but you do mention a couple of things that deserve fixing:

     

    * Cura offering to reload the project (or model) if it overwrites it itself.

    * No lost changes warning when exiting Cura.

    • Like 1
    Link to post
    Share on other sites

    Posted · Save and Save As

    @ahoeben 

     

    Thanks for the explanation.  I can understand how that evolved.  And more importantly, I now know that I'm not doing anything weird/wrong when I save my project!

     

    In my opinion, it's not just that it's a a couple of extra mouseclicks, but it's the break in the standard workflow that just about every other software package offers.  So yes, once you know that Cura is special, then you just click a couple extra times.  But why build in the confusion?  I understand now that it wasn't intentional, but since projects are a thing I think it would be nice if it followed the usual practice, just to avoid confusion.

     

     

  • Link to post
    Share on other sites

    Create an account or sign in to comment

    You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

    Create an account

    Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

    Register a new account

    Sign in

    Already have an account? Sign in here.

    Sign In Now
    • Our picks

      • S-Line Firmware 8.3.0 was released Nov. 20th on the "Latest" firmware branch.
        (Sorry, was out of office when this released)

        This update is for...
        All UltiMaker S series  
        New features
         
        Temperature status. During print preparation, the temperatures of the print cores and build plate will be shown on the display. This gives a better indication of the progress and remaining wait time. Save log files in paused state. It is now possible to save the printer's log files to USB if the currently active print job is paused. Previously, the Dump logs to USB option was only enabled if the printer was in idle state. Confirm print removal via Digital Factory. If the printer is connected to the Digital Factory, it is now possible to confirm the removal of a previous print job via the Digital Factory interface. This is useful in situations where the build plate is clear, but the operator forgot to select Confirm removal on the printer’s display. Visit this page for more information about this feature.
          • Like
        • 0 replies
      • Ultimaker Cura 5.6 stable released
        Cura now supports Method series printers!
         
        A year after the merger of Ultimaker and MakerBotQQ, we have unlocked the ability for users of our Method series printers to slice files using UltiMaker Cura. As of this release, users can find profiles for our Method and Method XL printers, as well as material profiles for ABS-R, ABS-CF, and RapidRinse. Meaning it’s now possible to use either Cura or the existing cloud-slicing software CloudPrint when printing with these printers or materials
        • 48 replies
    ×
    ×
    • Create New...