Noob Question: How to improve this print (Calibration Cube)

firefist235

Posted · Noob Question: How to improve this print (Calibration Cube)

Hi all,

I am an absolute 3D printing beginner, so I am i little overwhelmed with all the settings in cura.

I used the Cura extension "Calibration shapes" to print some calibration cubes with my Anycubic Kobra Max.

I am not really satisfied with the result.

The top is not good looking

the corners aren't really sharp

you can see horizontal and vertical "ghosting" from the "X" and "Y" all way around the surface (even on the sides were there is not even a letter) 

The first two cubes are printed with 80mm/s. The second large one with 40% Speed.

I also tried the cube with enabled and disables acceleration and jerk control in cura.

Can someone give me a hint what knobs i have to tune to improve my prints?

Thank in advance

20221120_105055.jpg

20221120_105115.jpg

20221120_105331.jpg

20221120_105351.jpg

Posted (edited) · Noob Question: How to improve this print (Calibration Cube)

Whether the printer came as a kit, or assembled from the factory, there are a couple of things to do to the machine itself to insure the mechanicals are adjusted.  Do not assume that because certain parts were assembled by Anycubic that they were assembled correctly.

Use a carpenter square and a straightedge and go over the frame.  You want the 3 axes to be as close to 90° to each other as you can get them.  My ender came with a 2° angle between the X and Y and that was a factory assembled piece.  Don't be afraid to loosen some screws and make some adjustments.  These are basically simple motorized machines.