Slice single-wall surface with cutout

mikedkelly
Go to solution Solved by GregValiant,

Posted (edited) · Slice single-wall surface with cutout

I am new to 3D Printing and am trying to slice the attached stl file. The outside skin and tubes were modeled as surfaces (0mm thickness) and the supports are thin solids (.2mm thick). My desire is for the skin and tubes to print with a single wall and the supports to print with 2 walls. This prints fine without the cutout, but with it added Cura removes sections of the skin along the z-axis. Admittedly, I have been hacking Cura to get these to print as opposed to modeling them correctly, so I am open to input on what to do correctly in my CAD software. I have tried turning on surface mode, but it removes some of the tube supports and no longer prints all of the attached bodies with a single extrusion path as it did before. I am using Windows 11 and Cura 4.13.1 but have also tried in Cura 5.2.0. Thanks for any input.

Left Wing 1.stl

Edited by mikedkelly

• Solution
    Posted · Slice single-wall surface with cutout

Try it with a 0.4 nozzle at 0.35 Line Width.  I thought it looked pretty good.

I usually print boat hulls thicker at .8 line width as they aren't near as fussy about weight.  If you wanted to print this at 0.6 line width you could do that by jacking up the flow in Cura, or just adding an M221 S150 line to the beginning of the gcode file.  If you try to do it with the line width then Cura will skip areas.

This is at .35 Line Width.

(BTW the bottom of the model isn't flat.  That's why the skirt is cutting across short of the leading edge.)

image.thumb.png.87ccef82fb820ee83ebeb3159375e921.png