Jump to content

Cura eleminating configuration (little rant)


esopalumpa

Recommended Posts

Posted (edited) · Cura eleminating configuration (little rant)

Cura had a little hiccup. It does not tell what went wrong, but demands to reset the configuration or it wouldn’t work at all.

Reset here means: delete all configurations, all printers, all custom profiles, all custom materials, etc.

As the cura configuration is structurally a total disaster and there are not tools to handle this pile of files at all, for everyone without a computer science degree, it is practically impossible to rescue any of his settings from the „backups“.

Cura is an excellent example for a system that does exceptionally ungraceful degradation in case of an error.

__________

¹ https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Fault_tolerance

Edited by esopalumpa
  • Link to post
    Share on other sites

    Posted · Cura eleminating configuration (little rant)

    Most of the times you can just "Disable affected profiles"  it's not a perfect solution but it's still better than "Reset" : the kill button 

  • Link to post
    Share on other sites

    Posted · Cura eleminating configuration (little rant)
    On 3/8/2023 at 3:27 PM, Cuq said:

    Most of the times you can just "Disable affected profiles"  it's not a perfect solution but it's still better than "Reset" : the kill button 

    I’m quite sure, there was no “Disable affected profiles” option.

  • Link to post
    Share on other sites

    Posted · Cura eleminating configuration (little rant)

    Yes, that can be a problematic dialog. I know that some users don't even think about it and just select OK and have the stuff deleted. I did that myself the first time but now I just close the dialog and begin to search for the problem. Often it is due to a recent change that was made (manually editing files) and by reverting the change the error goes away. A more prominent Cancel button may help for some here but the rather limited return information does not help people who are not aware of what they might have done to cause the issue. It would be nice if other information was given such as the file name where the conflict arose etc. but that may not be possible.

  • Link to post
    Share on other sites

    Posted · Cura eleminating configuration (little rant)
    22 hours ago, esopalumpa said:

    I’m quite sure, there was no “Disable affected profiles” option.

    That option is only available if you have the "Startup optimiser" plugin installed.

    • Like 2
    Link to post
    Share on other sites

    Posted (edited) · Cura eleminating configuration (little rant)

    Thank you for this clarification. I thought this was a basic feature of Cura. 

    One of the drawbacks of some plugins : so essential, they should be integrate as standard in Cura. 

    Edited by Cuq
  • Link to post
    Share on other sites

    Posted · Cura eleminating configuration (little rant)
    6 hours ago, ahoeben said:

    That option is only available if you have the "Startup optimiser" plugin installed.

    Thanky you. I have just installed the plugin. I agree with Cuq that some of these plugins should be enabled by default.

  • Link to post
    Share on other sites

    Create an account or sign in to comment

    You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

    Create an account

    Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

    Register a new account

    Sign in

    Already have an account? Sign in here.

    Sign In Now
    • Our picks

      • UltiMaker Cura 5.7 stable released
        Cura 5.7 is here and it brings a handy new workflow improvement when using Thingiverse and Cura together, as well as additional capabilities for Method series printers, and a powerful way of sharing print settings using new printer-agnostic project files! Read on to find out about all of these improvements and more. 
         
          • Like
        • 18 replies
      • S-Line Firmware 8.3.0 was released Nov. 20th on the "Latest" firmware branch.
        (Sorry, was out of office when this released)

        This update is for...
        All UltiMaker S series  
        New features
         
        Temperature status. During print preparation, the temperatures of the print cores and build plate will be shown on the display. This gives a better indication of the progress and remaining wait time. Save log files in paused state. It is now possible to save the printer's log files to USB if the currently active print job is paused. Previously, the Dump logs to USB option was only enabled if the printer was in idle state. Confirm print removal via Digital Factory. If the printer is connected to the Digital Factory, it is now possible to confirm the removal of a previous print job via the Digital Factory interface. This is useful in situations where the build plate is clear, but the operator forgot to select Confirm removal on the printer’s display. Visit this page for more information about this feature.
          • Like
        • 0 replies
    ×
    ×
    • Create New...