Bottom Layer Very Rough

Posted · Bottom Layer Very Rough

Good evening,

I am new to Cura and new to the forum as well. 

I have a problem with the bottom (first) layer.  The direction of the extruder is perpendicular to the length of the part.  This looks rough and very busy.  There are "crinkled worms" in a repeating pattern all along this layer as well.  I don't know if they are being formed by the layers above or where.  I used a raft which printed very smoothly.  I am trying to figure out how to make the first layer print parallel to the length of the part.  In order to make the part fit on the print bed, I need to rotate them corner to corner.  I have discovered this has an effect on the pattern of the first (and all) layers.  Because, when I make the parts parallel to the print bed, the first layer prints at approx. 45 deg.  I do not think other slicers I have worked with do this.  I am hoping it is a setting!  I am using matte black PLA printing at 210C and 50d build plate temp.  The part is ¾” square and 11.5” long.

I hope the Cura.3mf file and photos are helpful.  If someone needs more, please let me know!  I really appreciate your help.

Perpendicular Print.jpg

First-Bottom Layer.jpg

Raft Only.jpeg

Frame Uprights.3mf

Posted · Bottom Layer Very Rough

There are settings for "Line Directions" for Infill, Top/Bottom, Support Infill and Support Interface.  They go into square brackets.  The default for Top/Bottom is [45, 135] which gives you alternating directions at 90° to each other and at 45° to the build plate.  You could put in a single angle as [135] and all the layers would be laid down parallel.  That won't be as strong as a cross-hatch pattern though.

If you have rotated the part 45° you could make the Top/Bottom line directions [0, 90] and they would once again be at a 45° angle to the sides of the part.  You can get fancy with something like [15, 30, 45, 75, 90]  but there isn't actually much of a point to that.