Ender 3 ignoring Cura settings

sak1364

Posted · Ender 3 ignoring Cura settings

Another 3D printing newbie here with a question.

I'm using UltiMaker Cura 5.3.1 for Mac and I have an Ender-3 S1 printer.

As I've tried using different materials, like PETG, I have changed the settings according to recommendations I've found online. The problem is, some of the settings don't change on the printer.

For example, I changed the temperature and that works fine. I also change the print speed to 50 and the fan speed to anything else (including off altogether). When I start the print the Ender control panel display shows the print and fan speeds at 100 and that's how fast it goes. I can slow the print speed on the control panel and it'll print slower, but I can't change the fan speed. In fact I don't think I've ever heard the fan run at any speed other than full.

So my question is, why are the Cura settings being ignored? Am I doing something wrong?

Perhaps these questions are best asked in an Ender forum but I thought I'd try here first.

Thanks for any advice.

It would be helpful if you could provide the gcode for the print (and the Cura project file, if you have it).

On 8/12/2023 at 1:02 AM, sak1364 said:

For example, I changed the temperature and that works fine. I also change the print speed to 50 and the fan speed to anything else (including off altogether).

Did you change the settings on the printer or in a profile in Cura? The printer's settings for things like print speed and fan speed will be overridden by the gcode Cura produces, so you need to look through all the options because there's things like different temperatures, print speeds or fan speeds for different layers, stuff like that.

One thing I'll admit is weird: I've never experienced a situation where there's anything I can't change mid-print using the control panel on my Ender 3 v2 Neo. Make sure you're running the latest firmware is about all I can suggest.