Confusing Linux Error

WylieM

Posted (edited) · Confusing Linux Error

Hey guys, this is my first post here. I've been running Cura on my Chromebook (Through Linux, I just updated to the newest version) for over a year now, with no real issues. I've been doing the same thing to open Cura, enter "ls", selecting my Cura program that I've already given permissions for, and then opening it with the "./" typical command. I would like to add here that I am not a Linux expert at all, definitely a novice. I don't know entirely what is going on, but in the past I've been able to handle small problems. Anyways, the attached screenshot is the result that I've been getting every time I try to open Cura. In case it was a problem with Cura I downloaded the newest version and ran it. It went smoothly until I tried to open a file and clicked the folder icon. Then it crashed. This might be an entirely different and unrelated problem but I was able to open it, if that changes anything. I tried many different things but can't tell exactly what the solution is. If any more information is necessary I'd be happy to give it.

Thank you!

image.thumb.png.731dcddfd3257a26e344a4dbe038178c.png

Edited by WylieM

• WylieM changed the title to Confusing Linux Error

Running Linux on a Chromebook is more of a "Google wants you to be able to run Android Studio" thing than a "Google wants you to use this as a daily driver" thing so they're not too concerned about making changes which might break other things. I'm pretty sure the Linux development environment that gets installed on a Chromebook is based on Debian (or one of its children). If I'm wrong then these commands will do nothing (probably just give give you an error about not being able to find apt) so not really going to cause any harm (other than me having to do more research).