Strange surface with higher quality

Smitti
Go to solution Solved by obewan,

Posted · Strange surface with higher quality

Hi all

Im pretty new to 3D prints and want to print a mobile phone case which i have downloaded from thingiverse.

If I print with standard quality, everything looks fine (Pic1)

If i set the quality to to dynamic or super quality, some strange things happen to the surface. (Pic2).

Do someone know what impacts this behaviour?

Thank you and best regards

Smitti

Pic1.jpg

Pic2.jpg

There may be something going on with the model.  If a defect is lower than 1 layer height then Cura may miss it.  Lowering the layer height could catch it and Cura wants to print it that way.

Use the "File | Save Project" command and post the 3mf file here.  It will contain the model, your settings, and your printer.

Sometimes a model can contain artifacts like that if the designer altered a model and wasn't careful when cleaning up from a previous design.

• Solution
    Posted (edited) · Strange surface with higher quality

Had another look and it seems the model is not quite laying flat on the buildplate.

click on the model and open the rotate screen, in there is the option to lay flat.

But printing it that way up will probably need support.

Edited by obewan

This is one of the side holes.  You can see all the faceting, and that one long skinny triangle forms an extra surface.  That makes it a tough slice.

image.thumb.png.8e8266f49b665bb01203b0b6bf1ba128.png

Here is the report from formware.co/OnLineSTLRepair

--> 0 Naked edges (?)
    --> 0 Planar holes (?)
    --> 0 Non-planar holes (?)
    --> 133 Non-manifold edges (?)
    --> 177 Inverted faces (?)
    --> 8 Degenerate faces (?)
    --> 15 Duplicate faces (?)

--> 0 Disjoint shells (?)
    -> Repairing: 100.00%
    ----- Repair completed in 9039ms ------
    -> Vertex count changed from 13298 to 13994 (+696)
    -> Triangle count changed from 26886 to 28280 (+1394)