Filament issue?

Posted (edited) · Filament issue?

Hi,

I am new to 3d printing and am trying to print with a transparent PLA filament. I am using a FL Sun SR printer. I want to print a single wall model with a large nozzle and quite hight layer height.

I have tried different things to fix the issue. I have changed the nozzle temp, speed, bed-leveling but nothing seems to fix this issue with filament looking strange mid print and not connecting the same way all through the print.

I use theese Cura-settings:

Nozzle: 1.0mm

Layer height: 0.64mm

Line width: 1.2mm

Wall thickness: 1.2 mm

Speed: 30mm/s

Bottom thickness: 2 layers, 1.28mm

Infill: 0

Print temp: 232 C

Retraction: 6.5 mm

What could be the issue here?

Issue 

Edited by Theo123

Posted · Filament issue?
    11 hours ago, Theo123 said:

I use theese Cura-settings:

Nozzle: 1.0mm
    Layer height: 0.64mm
    Line width: 1.2mm
    Wall thickness: 1.2 mm
    Speed: 30mm/s
    Bottom thickness: 2 layers, 1.28mm
    Infill: 0
    Print temp: 232 C
    Retraction: 6.5 mm

What could be the issue here?

• Is that the right temperature? I've never tried transparent PLA but I've also never had to run any PLA I have used over 215°.
    • 1.2mm line width at 0.64mm height is asking a bit, even of a 1mm nozzle (and maybe even the extruder). What printer do you have? It's a good thing you're going slowly though.
    • Have you tried using spiralise? It's in Special Modes > Spiralize Outer Contour and pretty much literally what this thing is designed for if you're only doing one wall with no infill. It just goes up in circles, so there's no Z seam, and it never has to retract (which might explain some of the stringing in the second photo).
    • Remember if you have just a single wall there's nowhere for anything to hide if it doesn't come out right.
    • Retraction can be different depending on printer and especially extruder type... so again, what printer do you have?

My advice would be: