Max Print speed setting in Cura 5.6.0

nealet
Go to solution Solved by Slashee_the_Cow,

Posted · Max Print speed setting in Cura 5.6.0

Hi

I have a Creality Ender 5 S1 and Im using Cura 5.6.0 to slice my files. I'm new to this and I'm busy experimenting to see the effects of changes to settings.

My printer claims to be able to print up to 250mm/s but Cura (In Custom or other mode) will not allow me to set the speed faster than 150mm/s without the field going yellow. I understand that "yellow" is supposed to mean; "you can do this but its not advisable".

However, when i use speed settings in the "yellow" zone going faster and faster but staying beneath the "red" zone, I notice that the "print times" stop decreasing when I enter the yellow zone. ON inspection of the Gcode the speed settings "F", do not increase so my yellow zone experiments are not working.

I found a settings plugin on market place and installed it (By Ahoeben of filedofview) but I cant seem to get the "side bar" it talks about.

My question is; how can i Increase my speed settings in Cura up to the max limit of my printer?

Thank you and kind regards

• Solution

I'll get to the how (or at least my best guess at it) in a second, but first a warning:

You shouldn't. Only materials which are designed to be printed that fast, like high speed PLA, should be printed that fast. Most spools of filament will have details on the side of the idea printing settings for them, and I've found your average PLA tends to say about 65mm/s. If you're printing too fast the material won't have nearly enough time to set and it'll end up being dragged behind the nozzle (or just pulled out of position in general). It almost certainly will negatively affect your print results.