Difficulty with first print

ediblepoly

Posted · Difficulty with first print

I am trying to follow the instructions here at

http://wiki.ultimaker.com/Newcomer_guid ... t_3D_print

I am new to this and don't fully understand the process of generating gcode and printing objects. I am trying to print the first test object by following the instructions as closely as possible.

At “Step 4: Generating Gcode” most of these steps are confusing and don’t reflect what I see in ReplicatorG. Are these instructions referring to different software? I am using ReplicatorG Ultimaker Edition – 0034. I have the 0.5mm thin wall test object open and am trying to print it.

Here are the steps from the wiki page and my comments. The quoted steps have >> in front of them.

>> In the GCode - choose GCode generator menu, select Skeinforge 35

>> in the model window, click on the "Generate GCode button”

I followed these steps successfully.

>> select the profile " Skeinforge 35 Ultimaker - Quality print"

I don’t see this option. In the “slicing profile” pulldown, all I see is “PLA-Ultimaker-failsave-v1”

>> The profile needs to be adjusted for the first batch of ultimakers.

>> click "edit". This will open skeinforge.

Where is this edit button?

>> find the "speed" button. It's somewhere at the bottom row of all the buttons.

I don’t see a speed button anywhere.

>> set Feed rate (mm/s) to 50

I see this and changed it from 40 to 50.

>> set Flow rate (mm/s) to 50 or slightly higher (depending on the thickness of the filament)

I can’t find a flow rate box anywhere.

>> Click "Save all"

I don’t see a save all button.

>> Close the Skeinforge window.

This window is called “Generate Gcode”, not “Skeinforge”

>> Click "Generate" in the profile selection window. the Gcode will now be generated.

There is a “Generate Gcode” button in the “Generate Gcode” window, I assume this is what that is referring to. I click it and it takes about 10 seconds or so to generate the Gcode.