HEATER PROBLEM ?

dazzan

Posted · HEATER PROBLEM ?

Hi bought my Ultimaker from the website & managed to get time to build it from the Alien instruction guide :)

I am working in windows 7 64 bit

I am a complete novice , but at the moment .......

I cannot get Ultimaker to connect at all in my paid for nettfab for Ultimaker even though it says its on com 3 no luck at all ? ( I dont think this controls the heater so ,I can worry about this later )

I got Replicater G installed 0033 and its telling me I have a ultimaker v 1.0 ( 5d firmware ) on com 3

and it says its ready .

So im trying to test but it moves ok in the Jog panel all fine and callibrated ( I hope )

So the instructions on the heater side are a little vague ! Ive tried to preheat Pla to 210 C ( with warning saying temp set to high are u sure - yes) but after 2 mins the heater is as cold as ice still ? and no fiddling around with the settings will get heat started ? I have a blue light on top of my extruder head and pla pushed all the way down as far as it goes.

ive checked the wireing yellow on the left , red on the right with the black wire to the left ,so it s right .

But no heat .

Ultimaker bought in March I think .

Ill step back and have another look ,but wanted to post in case someone could throw light on the subject

Im from London

I also bough the controller kit later as well .

Many thanks

Daz

First, does it report no heat, or does it not get hot? It should take about 30 seconds to get to warm to touch. If it doesn't get warm at all, check the connections of the heater element, not the temperature sensor. These connections go all the way from the heater element (big round thing you inserted into the square block) to the ultimaker PCB:

http://wiki.ultimaker.com/File:Heater1.png

Make sure you have connected it to the right heater output.