Practical prints and printing materials

danzen

Posted · Practical prints and printing materials

Hi all,

I've decided to purchase the entire kit (needed to "persuade" significant other).

But before I do, I just wanted to clear a few things up.

I've seen plenty of beautiful prints (thanks to the collection at Durant's blog).

But, aside from looks, is the Ultimaker good for printing practical stuff? Things that actually work reasonably well?

Like for example, properly meshing gears or Lego blocks that assemble together nicely.

I'm concerned about the repeatability as well as the printing material.

Of course, I'm not expecting the quality of a proper commercially manufactured product, that would be unreasonable.

I have some experience with a commercial ABS printer, and even though the best layer thickness I can get out of the machine was about 0.2 mm, I was very happy with the usability of the prints.

Given the resolution of the Ultimaker, I'm guessing accuracy shouldn't be much of an issue, but how repeatable is it?

Using Lego as an example, if the prints are not reasonably repeatable some blocks are going to fit too tight while others too loose.

I love how strong ABS is, especially when the the model is designed carefully and printed in the optimal orientation.

Correct me if I'm wrong but Ultimaker prints best using PLA. I don't have anything against this material but I'm not really familiar with its mechanical properties.

Using gears as an example, will PLA gears disintegrate under load? Reasonable load that is, I'm not going to print myself a gearbox for the car I drive to work but maybe one for an RC car. I'm not expecting the gears to work forever (there will be wear and tear) but at the very least work well for a few months under frequent use.

So can anyone share their experience with practical prints and how PLA compares to ABS? Some pics or even videos would be nice.