Jump to content
lukem96

Whats happening?

Recommended Posts

Posted · Whats happening?

Hello everyone! hope everyones having a good day!

Okay I've just come across another problem, why is my print doing this? :( Im trying to print out a phone case, and the first layer hasn't gone that great, will it get better?

11748842_1023945694296653_1758268158_n.thumb.jpg.41b488943f299b88db5a04f153234e62.jpg

Thanks

Luke

11748842_1023945694296653_1758268158_n.thumb.jpg.41b488943f299b88db5a04f153234e62.jpg

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Posted · Whats happening?

You need to say what material you are printing with, temps, what you are using on the bed (if anything), print speeds etc. All of this will help to resolve your issue.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Posted · Whats happening?

Thank you for the reply!

I'm using pla, at 210 degrees, and I went on the quick print settings and it's doing it at high quality. Using nothing on the bed. Thank you!

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Posted · Whats happening?

Did the subsequent layers print any better?

If not it may be that...

your bed is too close to the nozzle

or

you may need a film of glue on the glass

or

you have a slightly clogged nozzle

or

print slightly hotter

or

all of the above

I wouldn't use 'high quality' - start with 'normal' and see how that prints?

good luck

cheers

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Posted · Whats happening?

It looks like it completely stopped printing for a minute, is that true? For about 20 traces? It must have been a clog that sorted itself out. That's all I can think of that would mess up that many traces in a row! Now if it were just 2 traces I would say you are too close to the glass and pressure built up until finally the feeder couldn't take it anymore and skipped back. But that shouldn't affect that much unless maybe you are doing very very thin layer on the bottom? Default is .3mm bottom layer - is that what you are doing? That bottom layer looks pretty good otherwise - nicely squished into the glass (good leveling).

No on to other topics - you didn't use a brim. That's probably a big mistake for this object. I recommend you print on 60C glass for this and use brim and also use a dilute glue solution. Those three things will help your case from peeling up off the bed on the corners. If you have no peeling up then ignore my advice.

Dilute glue: well glue stick is fine (or hair spary or wood glue) but use very little and add a tablespoon of water on the glass and mix it around with a paint brush or tooth brush or tissue. You want it very wet like a puddle and then as it heats up it should dry to an invisible layer.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Posted · Whats happening?

You know your picture is kind of small - can you post a full size version somewhere else such as dropbox or google+ or something? It looks like maybe it's too thin on the right side? Or maybe my imagination. If so then you can adjust the leveling by turning the screws. I wouldn't do the leveling procedure necessarily - just turn the screws in the right direction. It looks like possible the head is too close to the bed on the upper right area? You would know better than me - it would look too think.

Getting the bottom layer perfect is difficult and tricky. Most parts (e.g. robot) don't care but in your case you care. so you really need to get leveling perfect and the leveling procedure only gets you so far.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Posted · Whats happening?

Thank you very much for your replies!!

The main problem was to do with a blockage, but you were also right about the platform not being level. Thank you for all the help, the problem has been solved i really appreciate it!

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.


  • Our picks

    • Ultimaker Cura 4.0 | Stable available!
      Ultimaker Cura 4.0 is mainly focused on the improved user interface and cloud integration.
      As always, we want to collect your user feedback for this release. If there are any improvements you can think of, feel free to mention it here and help us to shape the next release.
      • 98 replies
×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information

Welcome to the Ultimaker Community of 3D printing experts. Visit the following links to read more about our Terms of Use or our Privacy Policy. Thank you!