Best UM2 Dual Extrusion Kit

Posted · Best UM2 Dual Extrusion Kit

I have been using a Ultimaker 2 printer for the past 2 years.

I really need that dual extrusion feature. After some searching I found a few different approaches to solving this. However, I did not find anything conclusive. I was curious to start a thread on "turn key solutions". Something that someone can source easily, install easily, and be dual printing relatively easy.

I see a few online. Some on eBay and others. Not really sure if that's the best path. What about motors, etc?

My only conditions are:

- Dual Extrusion

- Full Kit (No tracking down arcane parts)

- Print PLA & HIPS (Dissolvable stuff).

Any tips or ideas?

Thanks for all of the help!

You can easily buy all the parts to do this but there is a reason that Ultimaker didn't proceed with this. There were temperature issues where the heat from one nozzle heats up the other.

As the nozzles don't lift up then the oozing from the one that's not used can then knock over your part.

Also the lack of any good soluble material for PLA.

You can order all the parts from ultimaker but you might want to look at THIS Thread as it is the best option at the moment.

Well it's really a shame. It's kind of the ENTIRE reason I bought this machine - the dual extrude that is.

Why not just use one of the heads off of eBay I listed?

Is the oozing really that big of a deal? I just need another nozzle to do some support stuff. PVA maybe?

Why not just use one of the heads off of eBay I listed?

Is the oozing really that big of a deal?

short answer, because it just doesn't work, save yourself the frustration.

longer answer;

1st problem to avoid is your part getting knocked over by the nozzle not in use, you ether need a lifting system, lifting the nozzle not in use, or you need a system with separate nozzles parking the nozzle not in use out of the way.