Successful Result : Octopi Start and End GCode for UM2

abstract

Posted · Successful Result : Octopi Start and End GCode for UM2

Hi Folks.

I have been using UM2 for nearly 2 years and for most of that time I used Octopi to control the UM2 remotely. After a recent Cura / Firmware update the Octopi seemed to be failing to print properly and today I got around to fixing that.

I got the latest Octopi image and then I started messing around with the Start and End GCode in Cura. Since I sometimes use Octopi and sometimes print with SD card from the front of the UM2, I wanted to make sure that using these 2 modes were compatible. In particular, the 'extrude after print' and 'prime before print' needs to match up reasonably well when switching between the 2 different control modes.

Also, I like the way the UM2 primes material on top of the front right metal clip, and I wanted Octopi to do the same. Pouring over forums, I didn't find a definitive answer so I did a lot of trial and error, and here are the results I have finalised.

Of course, to clarify- In Cura you need to have 2 machines setup, one for UM2 native using UltiGCode and another one using REPRAP (although maybe with this extra start / end stuff, Octopi might work with standard UltiGCode??) - anyway assume you need RepRap (Marlin/Sprinter) mode in your second Machine "UM2 via Octopi".

Now, put in the following in the Start and End GCode sections in Cura:

START CODE:

G21 ;metric valuesG90 ;absolute positioningM82 ;set extruder to absolute modeM107 ;start with the fan offG28 ; home all axesG1 F12000 X5 Y10M109 S{print_temperature} ;Uncomment to add your own temperature lineG1 Z30 ; lowerG92 E0 ; zero the extruded lengthG1 F100 E40; purge nozzle with 50mm of filamentG1 X80 Y60 F3000 ; move aside of the puddle of primed plasticG92 E0 ; zero the extruded length againG1 F{travel_speed}M117 Printing...

END CODE: