Hello Ultimaker Forum,

polyploid

Posted · Hello Ultimaker Forum,

I'm fairly new to 3D printing. Trying to print a gel or paste. Is it possible to use Cura to control Layer height (mm) independent of Filament Diameter, Flow (%), Nozzle size (mm), etc. ?

Many thanks

polyploid

Hello ultiarjan,

Thanks for getting back.

How? Trying to print layers >1mm; when I enter Layer height values greater than .25 mm the print aborts. Maybe I am missing something?

Regards,

polyploid

Can you share a bit more of your setup? and the settings you use? and the cura version?

Hi ultiarjan,

Sorry if this is a repeat- I'm not sure if the a note from yesterday posted.

Here is a link to a vid. I'm extruding a gel through a 10cc syringe. I would like to increase the layer height. Using Cura 15.04.

vid:

https://drive.google.com/file/d/0B3fQfi6IbN0ZMUh6bUwyTm9hQVU/view?usp=sharing

extruder:

https://drive.google.com/file/d/0B3fQfi6IbN0ZazMzLVJ5MGl5bGM/view?usp=sharing

Thanks,

polyploid

Is it possible that you use no temperature? If so, you need to add a M302 command to allow for cold extrusion.

Hi peggyb,

Thanks for the tip. I don't know how to use the M302 command. I did find that I could only get the printer to work when the hot end was at operating temperature. So... I am still running wire from the hot end's thermistor, fan, and J-head to the printer controller. The PLA filament (1.75 mm) that was originally fed into the J-head is now driving the piston of a 10 cc syringe (= extruder).

Is the M302 command an instruction entered in firmware?

Thanks

looks like you are using a delta printer, I am using a Ultimaker Original so maybe some things work different......

these where settings I used for choco paste and played with them until the extrusion was right. To acces the sart and end code you will have to use cure in Reprap style, which you probably already have??

settings-choco.thumb.png.549f26a8e86cf1fdf86f9fef23ddd599.png