Makergeek's ABS Filament Problems

Pmains1

Posted · Makergeek's ABS Filament Problems

Hello fellow makers. My name is Phil and I am a teacher in America. I recently convinced my school to purchase the Ultimaker 2 this year and have been preparing for my class next fall.

The problem.

I purchased filament from maker geeks and have been having trouble getting the abs to work at a satisfactory level. I've run multiple tests and even built a front door to prevent airflow, but the prints still wont come out. I'm running on the following settings: Nozzle 240c, Bed 100c, 0.4mm extruder, Flow 107%, fan 30%, and 20% infill. I have used glue stick, Hairspray, ABS slurry, and blue tape to help with bed adhesion.

The temperature recommendation on the abs is 230c-240c

So far my best results are solid parts with good outside layers but the infill is thin and contains gaps also the bottom warps off the build plate.

Please help the more specific you are the better. If you have used this product and found the magic settings include everything.

Thanks

Phil

Posted (edited) · Makergeek's ABS Filament Problems

The most headache-free resolution would be to abandon ABS from hither forth.  It's a PITA with toxic fumes, and it likes to warp.   What parts are you printng?   Are you free to choose other plastics?

If you want to keep dealing with ABS, please post some pics of the good and bad areas of prints.  And realize sometimes you get a strain of problematic filaments that won't ever behave the way you desire.   Upsizing the nozzle helps sometimes with temperamental filaments.   Tried a .6 mm yet?

Also, which feeder is installed on your UM2? Default, lRobertl's, Bondtech, or UM2+ upgrade maybe? How is your feeder behaving? Main reason I'm askng is your 107% flow setting. That shouldn't be needed unless it's an attempt to fix a failing feeder

Edited by Guest
    added paragraph